17 for 2017: Ready, Set, Go

dsc_0258This week I’ve been working my way through the usual New Year’s to-do list.  Christmas decorations lovingly packed away?  Check.  New calendars obtained and displayed?  Check.  Hoppin’ John (a southern dish with ham and black-eyed peas) cooked up and devoured to ensure good luck?  Check.

Resolutions made?

Um.

Okay, I confess:  struggling with year-end fatigue (please just be over, 2016!), I was actually thinking of just skipping the whole resolution thing this year.  That is, until I was inspired by fellow bloggers Murtagh’s Meadow and Nanacatthydotcom who hit upon a fun and more thought-provoking way to count down their New Year’s resolutions–16 for 2016, 17 for 2017, etc.

So here goes:

17.  Find seventeen geocaches this year.  After locating my 200th cache last year, I let myself slip into a sad geocaching slump.  Time to dust off the old GPS and start exploring again.

16.  Rid our home of sixteen pieces of “stuff.”  If it’s not something we use, love, or need, it’s going, going….gone.

15.  Spend at least fifteen minutes a day writing … something.  I am a writer after all and writers write, right?  Thanks to A Writer’s Alchemy for the nudge here.

14.  Give away garden gifts (seeds, starts, veggies, jams, etc.) to fourteen people.  Because happiness is giving and sharing.

13.  Try thirteen new recipes.  That’s only one a month, plus one more.  I have cookbooks coming out of my ears, so this should be super easy, right?

12.  Write twelve blogs.  Just one teensy little blog per month.  I. Can. Do. This.

11.  Complete eleven arts and craft projects.  Even if it’s just a simple pencil drawing or yet another knitted scarf.

10.  Discover ten new places.  Towns, parks, gardens, breweries, cafes…the possibilities are endless.

9.    Go for nine bike rides just for the fun of it.  No STP training this year!

8.   Implement eight ways to make our farm more wildlife-friendly.  Our animal friends need all of the help they can get.

7. Meditate seven days a week.  Even if it’s only for a few minutes.  And don’t forget to breathe every day, too.

6.  Plant six new vegetable varieties in my garden.  Now where did I put those seed catalogs?

5.  Teach five people how to make no-knead bread.  So easy, so delicious–everyone in the world should know how to do this.

4.  Hike four new trails.  Time to cover some new ground.  I’m sure our old favorite trails won’t mind.

3.  Speak my mind three times when I normally would keep quiet.  Starting small here.  Surely I can do this…

2.   Learn two new skills or crafts.  Like how to swing dance or make soap or ???  

1.  Run/walk one marathon.  Just put one foot in front of the other and repeat for 26.2 miles.  Yikes.

I’ll let you know at the end of the year how I did!

Happy New Year!

Thanks for reading,

Cherie 

 

 

 

 

17 comments

  1. Cherie, thank you for the mention. It makes me happy that my blog has inspired you. I love the goals you have set. It is a fun and encouraging way to organize one self. The very best of luck.

    1. Thanks, Cathy, for your nice words and many thanks again for the inspiration! I just saw on your blogsite that you’re in Yorkshire–my family and I visited there many years ago and loved it. So beautiful 🙂 Happy New Year!

  2. Murtagh's Meadow · · Reply

    Great list Cherie. I love 16 and though not on my list I must do something along this line too. And number 7, if I could only get my head around meditation it would do me a lot of good! I look forward to reading about your progress over the year.

    1. Thank YOU for helping me get excited about making New Year’s resolutions again! Happy New Year 🙂

      1. Murtagh's Meadow · ·

        🙂

  3. awritersalchemy · · Reply

    I love this — And putting a number by each item makes it seem so much more doable — thank you!

    1. You’re very welcome, Bethany, though I can’t take the credit 🙂 That’s what I like about it, too (I’ve already purged three pieces of “stuff”-yay!). Hope your New Year is off to a great start!

  4. Rose Rock · · Reply

    Hi Cherie and good for you! I am especially fond of #12 as I will hear from you regularly and I’m hoping perhaps Bend/Sisters can provide you with a few of #10. Actually we could probably supply all of #10’s resolutions in one visit! Did you send a letter this year? We have been away until 2 days ago and a some of our Cmas cards were returned (a staff shortage at the Sisters PO is the only reason I can think of0. Love to see you, Rose! >

    1. Hi Rose! We would love to come visit you this year and work on #10 🙂 Sadly, your card was returned–I’ll pop it back in the mail ASAP!

  5. I love your list! I’m hoping to get into Geocaching this year – must get the smart phone first though! Especially like number 3! Is it ok to put a link on my 2017 list when I post it?

    1. Sure thing, and I’m happy you liked my list! I highly recommend geocaching–it’s so much fun 🙂 I don’t have a smart phone either, but instead use a little GPS unit my parents gave us for hiking that happened to also have a geocaching function. Good luck with your list!

      1. Good to know about the GPS devise, I’ll look into it. Thank you. I hope I’ll get my list out soon.

  6. […] Snail, Nanacathy, Gillyflower, Murtagh’s Meadow., Ouch My Back hurts, Ruth’s Arc,  Cherie Langlois, Erin’s Big […]

  7. A wonderful list. Good luck!

    1. Thanks so much! I’m working on it 🙂

  8. […] Snail,  Nanacathy,  Gillyflower,  Murtagh’s Meadow.,  Ouch My Back hurts,  Ruth’s Arc,  Cherie Langlois,  Erin’s Big World,  A LifeLessSimple,  TheWillowWitch, […]

  9. […] Snail, Nanacathy, Gillyflower, Murtagh’s Meadow., Ouch My Back hurts, Ruth’s Arc,  Cherie Langlois, Erin’s Big World, Country Ways and Cottage […]

Leave a Reply

